Month One Results

Happy October!

photo credit: myrevelment.com

photo credit: myrevelment.com

So the results are in—my first month I was able to save $205.16

And I paid $213.00 towards my credit cards.

Damn It.

Now, the final number I paid towards the cards is no where near what I was hoping to be at. I was hoping for some out of this world, much larger figure. But here’s the silver lining, folks: I have money my savings. This is very new to me. I always pull money out of that account to buy more, and now it’s accumulating!

All four of the cards are still there. But hey, Rome wasn’t built in a day, right?

Another major help has been using the old fashioned transaction register. It has REALLY helped me visualize how much money is actually going where. Nearly $200 went to eating out in September…hello wake up call. Let’s face it, I didn’t stick to my Spending Fast after I exceeded my allowance.

But here’s some positives–I did sell items to kinda give myself a free pass for my spending in Michigan (I’m getting addicted to ebaying!). Selling items I no longer use/have never used brought in an additional $140. Yes, that money should’ve gone to my credit cards…I know, trust me. I’m figuratively slapping myself on the wrists. Oh! An I’ve been knitting like a crazy woman to boost my Etsy shop inventory–I can’t wait to launch it! (If you see a 20 something on the CTA knitting…it’s likely me).

As disappointed as I am about my September numbers, I have made some great strides. I haven’t bought my lunches (as much) and I stopped getting the fancy coffee (at least I haven’t put any additional money on my Starbucks Gold Card…). And JD and I have made a much more conscious effort to eat in. Over the weekend we made Chicken Chili—for a low cost, we he made enough chili to last us both nearly a week! Here’s his masterpiece:

Of course I added cornbread muffins into the mix! nom nom nom

Of course I added cornbread muffins into the mix! nom nom nom

Chicken Chili

What You’ll Need:

  • Ground Chicken
  • Diced Sweet Potatoes
  • Corn
  • Black Beans
  • Onion
  • Jalapeno
  • Crushed Tomatoes
  • Tomato Paste
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Crushed Red Pepper
  • Chili Powder
  • Cumin
  • Garlic Powder
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Paprika
  • Cinnamon
  • Chipotle Tabasco
  • Water

Instructions (well, this is what Pinterest tells me…JD did his own thang):

  • Season the chicken with salt and pepper. Add 1 tablespoon oil to a Dutch oven or large soup pot set over medium heat and cook the chicken until cooked through.
  • Add 2 tablespoons oil to the pot over medium heat and cook the onion and pepper (season with salt and pepper) until tender about 5 minutes.
  • Add the sweet potatoes, tomatoes, black beans and corn. Season with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, cayenne pepper, paprika, cinnamon, and chipotle Tabasco.
  • Bring to a simmer and cook about 35 minutes, stirring every so often and adding more seasoning as needed until sweet potatoes are tender.
  • Serve with shredded cheese, sour cream and/or tortilla chips.

Enjoy! And here’s to Month 2!

One thought on “Month One Results

Leave a Reply

